FYQE3bkcr_by1JO1SzEE4m4mp7bFWSKf2KTsG96svu0 Insomnia Isn't The New Black!
top of page

Blog Post Details

Search

Insomnia Isn't The New Black!

How important is sleep really? Well to start off, sleep plays a huge role in your physical health. There are 50-70 million people in the U.S. that suffer from insomnia. Not to mention, the people who over sleep and abuse it.


Sleep effects the heart. For people getting 6 hours or less a day, they are 48% more likely to suffer from heart disease, 15% more likely to develop a stroke, and weight gain. The longer you are awake, the hungrier you become, since your body needs more energy to sustain you. When you are sleep deprived, it makes your immune system weaker. This means you are more likely going to get sick.


What about your mental health?

During sleep, your brain functions in two different ways. First, there is slow-wave sleep (SWS), also known as deep sleep. Secondly, there is REM (Rapid Eye Movements) sleep, also known as dreaming sleep. Here the body increases to levels measured in people who are awake. This stage of sleep helps to enhance learning and memory. It also contributes to emotional health.


It's safe to say that sleep is pretty darn important. Here is a nightly routine to help enhance your sleep and health. This is what I personally do every night and it has changed everything for me.


First thing is first, put AWAY the electronics! The light alone can disrupt the body's sleep and it suppresses melatonin levels. Taking magnesium can help, it is pretty important for sleep, and also nerve and muscle functions. Many people do not have enough of this mineral. Magnesium L-Theronate is one of the few forms that our bodies can effectively take.


Next, I make a Cup of Tea. This helps to calm my mind and body. Chamomile and lavender with honey is one of my favorites. This is a great combo to help the nervous system. While my tea cools, I pull out my yoga mat. This is the time that I meditate and do light yoga to begin to relax my mind and body. I light one of my dressed candles, lower the lights, and begin. Below I have listed some of the postures I do, which are great for sleep.


The Lotus Pose with deep Breathing (Padmasana)


Standing Forward Bend (Uttanasana)


Catcow (Marjaryasana and Bitilasana)


Childs Pose (Bala Sana)


Extend Corpse Pose (Savasana)


Legs Up the Wall Pose (Viparita Karani)


Reclined Spinal Twist (Supta Matsyendrasana)


Corpse Pose (Savasana)


During the last Savasana, I begin my deep breathing, and relax all my muscles to go into my meditation state. I stay here for about 5 minutes, (you can stay here for as long as you feel is right).


Lastly, I grab my tea and I begin my Skin Care Love. I love my holistic regimen. I begin with my face wash, followed by my toner to refresh and balance my PH, and then I finish with Anti-Aging Night Serum, which is enriched with vitamin E and carrot seed oil.


Many people take for granted the importance of sleep and having a good nightly routine. To truly make changes and live your best life, putting together a nightly routine you love can make a world of difference!

8 views0 comments
bottom of page